Elderflower and Lemon Syrup

image

I keep procrastinating when it comes to blog posts, something elsewhere always seems to need my attention, more often over on CCC.

Every spring as I enter my allotment, I see the fragrant blooms of the Elderflower Blossom, and with each entry, I tell myself, that I should make some Elderflower syrup, but on my next visit, the blossoms are passed their best, so I vow to make it the following year, but never do, and so the cycle continues, until this year.

I’d started collecting bottles with the lovely flip tops, so vintage looking and set about collecting, quite impulsively some Elderflower florets while on the plot one day, They looked perfect, lush creamy and not a hint of brown tinge on the edges of the petals. I snipped away, leaving plenty to ripen into fruit for the birds. We often see Robins and wrens on the allotment, although the cats who visit may sometime frighten them away. Our plot is quite a haven for wild life and animals and we grow things organically.

I searched the internet and books for recipes, and many seem to use 1 ltr of water to an astonishing 1kilo of sugar. Now I have a sweet tooth but when it comes to syrups, less is more with me. So my first experiment used 600g sugar to 1ltr of water, still a little sweet, so my next test was to use 500g. This proved a better and more manageable flavour. The son and I are now quaffing  Elderflower and Lemon/Lime Syrup diluted in water during this beautiful summer weather. My only regret is that I haven’t made more. So here’s to next season. Better start collecting more flip top bottles.

Ingredients makes just approx 1ltr of syrup

  • 35 sprigs of fresh creamy white elderflowers with no brown, past their best edges, they will discolour and distaste the syrup.
  • 1 ltr of water
  • 500g white sugar – Caster sugar dissolves quicker
  • Juice and zest of 2 Lemons or Limes or mixture of both
  • Jars for bottling – Sterilized

Method

  1. Shake, but do not wash, all the flower stems. Leave for a few moments in a bowl for any creepy crawlies to find their way out.
  2. Cut all the flower heads from the stems and place in a bowl.
  3. Boil the water and pour over the Elderflowers and leave for at least 24hours to infuse.
  4. Strain the liquid and place this into a heat proof bowl over a pan of simmering water.
  5. Add the sugar, citrus juice and zest
  6. Stir until all the sugar is dissolved.
  7. Fill your sterilised bottles with the syrup, strain the zest if needed.
  8. Serve diluted with cold water

Note: Shelf life. Not sure, because we drank it all within a few weeks during this heat wave.

image

Pick freshly opened elderflowers and remove as many of the stems as possible, I read somewhere that they can be a little bit poisonous if you had too many. So get the sissors out and get snipping.

image

Soaking the Elderflower Florets in hot water

image

I love these flip top bottles.

Leave a Reply

