Lemon Curd

Lemon Curd

Could someone please whisk me away to a Lemon Grove. There I will sit for a whole week, thinking about recipes featuring these lovely cheek suckingly good beauties. I’m sure that every part of the Lemon tree could be used in something somewhere. Many years ago I once grew a lemon plant from a pip just to see if it would grow, it took 3 years to get to a decent height, no lemons. Not sure what happened to the plant.

This Lemon curd recipe is taken from page 140 (my cake recipe) of the Clandestine Cake Club Cook Book, but I used Lemons instead of Limes. The principle for making it is the same, only the taste is different.

Ingredients

60g Butter, diced

2 eggs

170g Caster Sugar

Grated zest and juice of 3 large unwaxed Lemons

Put all the ingredients for the Lemon curd in a small, heavy-based pan and heat gently, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon – don’t let the mixture boil or the eggs will scramble. When it has thickened enough to coat the back of the spoon quite thickly, take off the heat and fill a clean 12oz/e340g jar. Seal and leave to cool.

If you want perfection, sieve the curd before bottling to remove any cooked egg whites. But sieving will also remove the lemon zest, which you really want to keep if you want that extra zingyness in the taste.

Use the curd to fill all cakes and even add a few tablespoons to your cake batter mix, along with more lemon zest when making Lemon Drizzle cakes.

A few dollops mixed in with your buttercream and frosting will give that extra kick of flavour.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Curd

  1. I love lemon curd. When we lived in Spain we had an enormous lemon tree that kept us going all year round with the most fantastic lemons. I used to make lemon curd and every type of lemon preserve I could think of and had to resort to giving them away to anyone that wanted them! I do miss it.

  2. I make this often, however I am unsure how long it will keep opened in fridge. Do you know? It also freezes beautifully.

    Love your recipes.

    Netta

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

