Cooking and Baking my way through retirement

Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas.

Since opening The Secret Tea Room in my own home in June 2010, every monthly event that I held for the following 2 years were fully booked and in many cases over subscribed. I was inspired by the Underground Supperclub movement at that time and many of my friends who I met along the way continue to hold their own supperclub and afternoon tea events in their own home.

Guests would arrive at my home as strangers and leave as friends. They sat elbow to elbow with people they didn’t know, but soon engaged in conversation over afternoon tea. And they all got to take cake home. It was the perfect social gathering whether you came alone or with a friend.

Home made Afternoon Tea, what more could you ask for.

At the same time I was also juggling with the Clandestine Cake Club, which I created in the same year (December 2010) and although TSTR was a great success, CCC began to take over my life, and no matter how good I was at multitasking, with a heavy heart I held the last of my afternoon teas in the summer of 2012. I wanted to concentrate more on building CCC and putting together the Clandestine Cake Club Cook Book which will be published in February 2013.

But I longed to return to by blog. So with a new year approaching – 2013 and a new tagline, I am now Cooking and Baking my way through retirement.

I hope you will join me. I have some new cookery books, lots of new baking friends, some new ideas and lots of imagination. Let’s see where this new road takes me.

All the best to you for the coming new year.

Lynn

7 thoughts on “Cooking and Baking my way through retirement

  1. Taking on just one of these projects was impressive, but to do both for two years is quite astonishing. Very exciting about your book coming out in February, all the very best with that, and with all the wonderful baking to come in 2013!

  2. Hi Lynn, it was lovely to read your blog earlier today. if it hadn’t been for your article in Prima magazine back in February, I would not have embarked on my own secret tea room. I opened officially in September and i am fully booked until the end of April with plenty of interest. It is so nice to do something for myself as well as for other people. You have definitely achieved a lot in the last 2 years and long may it continue. Good luck with the book and best wishes for 2013!

Leave a Reply

