Gobly Cake

Working through my newly acquired Recipes Across the Years booklet from the West Yorkshire Archives, my next recipe to try was Gobly Cake. What on earth is that you may ask yourself. Well, according to West Yorkshire Archive Service it appears this 1920 cake recipe was created by using left over baking ingredients. And looking at the list I can see that it’s true. But why Gobly? Google the word and you won’t find it except on this blog.

Looking at the ‘Method’ made me think it was a try bake of some sort and when it asked to put the mixture in a Swiss roll tin, I didn’t think there was enough mixture, so I used an 8ins square tin.

I kept to the same ingredients as best I could but I replaced Margarine with Butter and used Glacé Cherries and chopped them a little. I baked it in the middle of the oven at 170 deg for around 20-30 mins.

This is a very nice easy recipe and you could easily substitute/add other ingredients. My suggested additions. Add some spices  such as Nutmeg, Cinnamon or Mixed Spice for additional flavour. This cake is very sweet and could be served as a pudding with nice vanilla ice cream or even a nice homemade custard, which is very nostalgic.

Happy Baking

One thought on “Gobly Cake

  1. Pingback: Leeds today: extensions, M62, trees, antiques, cake, other food, and a dog statue. | Beyond Guardian Leeds

Leave a Reply

