Recipes Across the Years

I love old recipes, and when the chance came to get a copy of  the West Yorkshire Archive Services ‘Recipes Across the Years , I took it. Before my blogging days, I spent a lot of time researching my family history, now I don’t have the time for it and I think I got as far as I could go with my research. So I have an affinity with all things old and Vintage, which is probably why I like to collect old crockery etc.

Anyway, back to this recipe book. It’s a 30 page booklet with copies of the actual recipes with their joined up writing and misspellings such as ‘falt’ (Salt) ‘Cloath’ (Cloth) ‘feafon’ Season c1700.

What also struck me about many of these recipes is the neat, joined up handwriting. One Recipe caught my eye ‘ To Make Poo Soop’. On closer inspection, and reading the title page, it said Pea Soop (sic)

Further page turning revealed a recipe for Treacle Scones. This I had to try straight away. So with a slow computer, unwilling to let me do my work this morning, I set to and put t’oven on. I kept as far as I could to the original ingredients, but here are my amendments

  • 1/2 lb Flour – I used Self Raising
  • 1/4 lb Oatmeal – I used porridge Oats
  • 1 & 1/2 oz Fat – I used slighted salted Butter
  • 1/2 flat teaspoon Bi-carb soda – Yep
  • 1 flat teaspoon Cream of Tartar – Yep
  • 1/2 flat teaspoon Salt – I didn’t add any because of the salt in the butter
  • 1 tablespoon Treacle – I used Golden Syrup
  • 1 cup of Milk – I used 10 tablespoons of Full Fat Milk
  • Hot oven – about 10 mins  – I set my oven at 170 deg fan assisted.

This recipe didn’t give a method and I can see it was written purely for the baker herself.

Here is my method

  • Heat the oven to 170 deg fan assisted
  • Combine the flour, Bi-carb, Cream of Tartar and Butter between your finger tips until it resembles a crumb like mixture
  • Add the Oatmeal and mix until combined
  • Add the treacle and milk to the dry ingredients until well combined, but do not over mix.
  • Scone dough should not be over handled or they will be very dense.
  • Roll out the dough and using a scone cutter, cut out 11 – 12 scones about 1 inch high placing them on a greased and floured baking tray
  • Bake in the oven for around 15 mins.

Taste

With having Oatmeal in, the scones were light but had a slight dense texture to them. But as with all freshly made scones, they are best eaten on the day they are made.

I ate mine on it’s own, no butter or cream or Jam. I wanted to taste it as it would have been eaten back in the 1940, which is where the book says it came from. I could taste the treacle and it’s sweetness, and whilst I was placing the scones on the baking tray prior to putting them in the oven, I was taken back to  the old flat were we used to live in as a child. There in the kitchen, my mother baked and my little sister and I used to share the cream from the top of a bottle of full fat milk. I think I still have the same small glass we used to drink the milk out of. It’s over 50 years old.

This is a lovely little book and I’m very thankful to West Yorkshire Archive Service for sending it to me. Over the coming weeks I’ll certainly be baking a few more recipes. How can I resist it, when there is a recipe for ‘Quaking Pudding’, ‘Gobly Cake’ and a ‘Chocolate Cake That Keeps’

This Friday 16th September 2011 West Yorkshire Archive Services are holding an event at Wakefield Market’s Demonstration Station in the food hall called ‘Recipes Across the Years’

I’d love to go but I’m baking and preparing for Afternoon Tea at The Secret Tea Room on Saturday, but this sounds like a great event, so why not go along.

2 thoughts on “Recipes Across the Years

  1. Pingback: Baking from our recipe book! | Catablogue

  2. Pingback: Leeds Today: opportunities, research, schools, signs, bricks, beer, and weekend highlights. | Beyond Guardian Leeds

Leave a Reply

