Afternoon Tea, #ChallengeMark, Courgette & Chocolate Cake

No matter how many Courgettes you add to a cake mixture, you still won’t be able to taste them. This I found out when I made 2 x 6 ins cakes the other day. I used my guests at The Secret Tea Room yesterday as guinea pigs. I used 2 medium Courgettes with some cocoa, covered the cake with chocolate Ganache and coated the outside with crushed Nuts. The result was a moist chocolate cake, with no taste of  Courgette. I was hoping for a cake similar to a Carrot cake in appearance, but carrots have that wonderful Orange colour that stands out from the vanilla sponge but Courgettes, unless you leave the skins on, are really colourless. Yet they do add lots of moisture to a cake, so when in season why not add a couple to your cake mixture, no one need know. When I text my daughter to say I’d made a couple of Courgette and Chocolate Cakes, her reply was ‘Are you mad’ no I’m not and in fact many people bake cakes with courgettes in them. If you’ve never tried it, I suggest you give it a go while they are in season.

Combined with yesterdays Afternoon Tea, Mark O’Brien was working his way through August by visiting places suggested by readers of Culture Vulture and twitter. I was asked if there was a place for afternoon Tea, but as I was full, I suggested Mark work front of house, serving the tea as a way of earning some Tea and Cake. He did a grand job, greeting guests, hanging coats up, taking the Tea Orders and generally chatting to guests about what his #ChallengeMark was all about. He also did a great job keeping two pretty young ladies company in my front room who found themselves on their own due to some guests not showing up – an email stuck in their ‘out box’ meant I never got the cancellation. These things happen but I’m sure Mark had a lovely time talking to these young ladies and getting to know further places to travel in August.One of my guests, from Dinner at the Manor, a new Supperclub in Leeds, brought me some Yorkshire Forced Rhubarb and Stem Ginger Jam. This I have to try. Rhubarb and Ginger are some of the best combinations of flavours. Apart from enjoying this on toast for breakfast, I can see  it also being used as a filling for a future sponge cake. I can’t wait to visit their first Supperclub event in October.

Celebrations were also the order of the day as some guests did a BYO.

As is the order of the day, guests get to take cake home and I took my spare Courgette and Chocolate cake up to a friend’s house, to find that she was having guests later that evening so the gift of a cake was, I hope, a nice surprise for them.

My next Afternoon Tea isn’t until Sept 17th and with a few Clandestine Cake Club events in between, plus a few a few ‘close to my chest’ projects, I’m still going to be kept busy.

7 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea, #ChallengeMark, Courgette & Chocolate Cake

  1. Wow your courgette cakes look amazing, I’ve made them before as we usually have far too many on the allotment but usually loaf type cakes so have never iced them before, will have a go now. They look gorgeous!

  2. Pingback: the culture vulture » Days 4 and 5: When Things Go Wrong

  3. They look delicious! I highly recommend trying the American Vanilla courgette cupcakes (and everything else) from Harry Eastwood’s book: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Red-Velvet-Chocolate-Heartache-feel-good/dp/0593062361

    I posted about them here; http://cakeandfeminism.wordpress.com/2011/07/10/get-your-five-cakes-a-day/ and have made several gorgeous cakes from her book, including butternut squash chocolate cake which is truly scrumptious! A great book if any of your guests need gluten free, too, as they all use rice flour.

  4. Pingback: Leeds today: paper cranes, bus lane cameras, the Yorkshire flag and hacking. | Beyond Guardian Leeds

Leave a Reply

