The Layer Cake

No not the film, although I’ve seen it several times and not a slice of cake to be seen anywhere.  Well not the sort I’m talking about.

I’m finding Layer Cakes very easy to make and vary versatile. Make your favourite sponge mixture and divide it into as many sandwich tins as you can. They only need be in the oven for around 10 – 15 mins as opposed to the 30 mins and upwards for the usual whole sponge cake. You don’t need to keep opening the oven either, causing the possibility of a sunken cake.  These bake in no time at all.

If you add Strawberries or Raspberries to the batter,  just add a few more minutes to the baking time.

After your sponge has cooled, why not add some extra flavours such as Fruit Juice, Coffee or Alcohol. This will help keep the cake moist.Then add a simple jam or cream cheese filling and complete the Layer Cake.

If you’re creating a rainbow effect with your cake by using lots of different food colourings, then why not cover the whole cake with a cream cheese frosting. The impact then is seeing the coloured layers as you cut the first slice.

I’ve made 4 Layer Cakes recently, 2 of which were for Clandestine Cake Club

Citrus Sunbeam Layer Cake – Recipe

For this cake I added Lemon and Orange juice to the corresponding coloured sponge layers.

Tia Maria Layer Cake (pic courtesy of Mike Wallis) – Clandestine Cake Club Harrogate.  For this I added some Tia Maria to the sponge batter and more Tia Maria to the cooled sponge layers before covering it in a cream cheese frosting.

Strawberry and Cream Cheese Layer Cake which I made for an exchange of vintage crockery.

Blackcurrant, Lemon and Almond Layer Cake – Recipe – Clandestine Cake Club – Headingley. I filled this with a sharp homemade blackcurrant jam which cut through the sweetness of the cake.

The tallest Layer Cake I’ve made was the six layered Citrus Sunbeam Layer Cake.  I have yet to make a Rainbow Layer Cake.

If you’ve ever made one of these cakes let me know what sort it was.  Which reminds me, I haven’t watched the film for a while. Time to cut myself a slice of cake and get the DVD out.

4 thoughts on “The Layer Cake

  1. Hi. I made a 7 layer rainbow cake for my youngest’s 13th a couple of weeks ago. It was a fab surprise, stunning and can’t wait to try a new theme/flavour/colour – maybe not 7 layers next time unless a very special occasion again! Oh Daniel Craig – almost as tasty!!

Leave a Reply

