Madeleine recipe challenge

After a successful Scone Recipe Challenge, I thought I would create another challenge for all my baking readings.

I’ve made madeleines before, but this morning I didn’t have any plain caster sugar so I thought I’d have a go using Light Brown Sugar and instead of adding Vanilla extract I added Coffee Essence instead. Here is my recipe, I’ve changed 2 ingredients from the original.

Coffee Madeleines

Makes 20 Large Madeleines

1/2cup (113 g) salted butter, melted

1 cup (130 g) plain flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3 medium eggs at room temperature

2/3 cup (133 g) light brown sugar

1 -2 teaspoons of Coffee Essence depending on how strong you like your coffee.

Melt the butter in a pan and leave to cool

Mix Baking Powder and Flour together

With a small hand mixer, beat the eggs and sugar together until doubled in volume and leaves a trail in the batter mixture when you stir through it. Add the Coffee Essence and mix together

Sift the flour/baking powder  ingredients, then add to the batter mixture and fold in very gently, trying not to beat out all the air. I used a ‘spon’ sent to me by The Spon Company a few weeks ago to try out.

Still using my ‘Spon’ I carefully folded in the cooled melted butter until all the ingredients are now combined to make a thick batter.

Leave to stand for 10 – 15 mins until the batter has settled and thickened a little more.

Add a tablespoon of batter onto each section of the Madeleine tray.

Bake in oven (Fan assisted) 180 deg for 8 – 10 mins, take care as these little beauties can burn very quickly, so use the timer.

So as with the Scone Recipe Challenge, make yourself some Madeleines, add your recipe to your blog, along with a picture and link it back here to this post. I in turn will print your Madeleine picture on the Recipe Challenge page and link back to your blog where people can find your recipe.

Happy baking, lets see how many flavours you can come up with. I’m looking forward to see what you all make.

15 thoughts on “Madeleine recipe challenge

    • Silicone and non-stick moulds do a fine job, but there’s nothing to beat a good old-fashioned madeleine tray made of tin. It’s a bit of a faff having to prepare it properly, but it’ll result in the perfect texture on the shell side. Plus there’s the stomach churning moment when you tap the cakes out hoping non will have stuck – all part of the poetry of madeleines.

      You’ll find them on t’internet or Peter Maturi in Leeds have them for about £9.

  1. My scones aren’t quite up to challenge standard but I make a mean orange madeliene dipped in dark chocolate – I call them post jaffa cakes!! Looking forward to seeing what everyone else makes 🙂

  2. I have a silicone pan and they pop out easily, but don’t brown. I have tried dusting them with powdered sugar to disguise the fact they aren’t brown, but that isn’t really satisfactory. I was wondering if anyone had discovered how to get them to brown.

      • When I have just one tray of Madeleines to bake, I leave them in for exactly 8 mins on the middle shelf, fan assisted 170 deg. If there is more than just the Madeleines baking, they will need up to 4 mins longer. You will find they look very pale on top, but underneath they are more golden, so in essence I take them out before they start to look Golden on top and appear under cooked, but firm and bouncy to the touch.
        Hope this helps

  3. Oh can anyone take part – have wanted to make Madelines for ages – mainly as an excuse to buy the lovely tins!
    Also is there a closing date?
    Thanks!

  4. Ooh a recipe challenge – ages since I did one. Does it count if I make these in my sleep? Bit short of time atm. Always wanted to get the madeleine tin into action though….

    @Priscilla – re browning them in silicon moulds – blow torch them when turned out (set on low)? Or flash under grill.

  5. Pingback: 7 Recipes for Coffee Candy Bites

Leave a Reply

