Edinburgh – Cake

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thing I learnt from my visit to Edinburgh and that is the people love to bake. There’s also a running joke in that all the cakes they bake don’t have any calories in them. How cool is that. Here I was on a mission to find all these lovely cakes.

I met a couple of Twitter friends at our first coffee shop. We had lots to chat about over a delicious coffee and cream cheese bagel – a late breakfast due to me catching such an early train.

Our next stop was  Mimi’s Bakehouse, The Shore, Leith where I had the most wonderful Victoria Sponge cake filled with cream and jam. This is one place where all the cakes are baked on site.

My companions Lea and Alison opted for a savoury quiche with a salad. If I hadn’t just eaten the Cream Cheese bagel I would have gone for that myself, but I was here for cake.

On the way out of mimi’s, I had to buy cake to take home. The temptation not to eat them on the train home was immense but as you can see from the picture I made it.

Manna House Bakery, Leith Walk – I bought some Pain de Champagne bread

Our final destination was a lovely little place called Clarinda’s Tea Room, Canongate Here I had a Scottish Breakfast Leaf Tea served in a little brown teapot, delicious and refreshing.

What didn’t make it home was a Cappuccino Bar from La Cerise, Great Junction Street, Leith Well, on a 3 hour train journey how could I resist. Don’t ask me what the East Coast Rail tea was like, all I can say was I was thirsty.

Many thanks to my companions Lea and Alison for showing me around Edinburgh and introducing me to such wonderful cakey people. I only wish we had more such independent bakers in Leeds. Allison provided some of the pictures in the slide show and gave me lots of lovely Edinburgh Foodie Magazines to read on the train home.

As Arnie says ” I’ll be back”

2 thoughts on “Edinburgh – Cake

  1. It was a pleasure to take you round the cakey sights of Edinburgh. We only scratched the surface, there are many more places to eat cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

