It’s ok to use Margarine

Throughout my baking years, I’ve often used margarine. My mother used it and she often used butter too.

Now a days, I use butter with all my baking, especially at my tea party events and when baking for other people. Butter is a quality product that deserves it’s place in baking.

Today, I decided to make some scones using a non dairy product. And why not. Many people have allergies to dairy, but this wasn’t the reason why I used it. The product was sitting in my fridge, waiting to be part of something comforting and yummy that is a scone. The label says it contains:

  • Sunflower oil
  • a source of B Vitamins
  • Suitable for Vegans
  • Soya Free
  • 75% less saturated fat than butter
  • No hydrogenated vegetable oils.

They all sound good to me. But I have to say I have a soft spot for the creamy taste of good butter.  It will always be found in my baking.

Whenever I bake scones the only dairy product I serve with them is Clotted Cream, nothing else will do.

Leave a Reply

