Some of my favourite Gadgets

When I’m baking , I rely on some of my favourite gadgets.

To test if my cakes are cooked in the centre I use my heart shaped Cake skewer, which was a birthday gift last year. To baste my mini tartlet tins and other baking surfaces,  I use my red silicone brush, which is very easy to wash afterwards and, unlike the bristle brushes, it doesn’t loose half it’s bristles onto the coated surface. It’s also good for topping scones or pastry with an egg wash before baking.

A handy lemon squeezer is easy to  pick up and put down and to ensure I scrape every morsel or cake mixture from my bowls I use any one of my many silicone spatulas.

I have 2 sets of measuring spoons and measuring cups.  I could do with more. It can get a little messy measuring different types of ingredients with the same spoons or cups, so having more than one set helps greatly.

I don’t know what I’d do without my trusty Kenwood Major and it’s many attachments. Especially the food processor attachment that I always use for making my shortcrust pastry. I’ve had my Kenwood Major for around 5 or 6 years and has a permenent place in the corner  surrounded by cupboards containing all I need to bake.

One very handy little gadget I use comes from Lakeland. I dare anyone to go in one of their stores and not buy anything, it’s impossible. This little gadget is a wooden utencil that allows you to drop a small ball of your favourite pastry into their mini tartlet tins and you simply press the pastry into the shape of the tin. This gadget comes with the Tartlet tins and isn’t sold separately as far as I know.

One gadget I always have trouble with and that’s my Hand Held mixer. I’ve had 3 in less than 2 years. The first, a very cheap (£5) one, lasted 12 months of heavy use. I decided to buy a more robust and a little more expensive one (£15), this only lasted a week- the push button on/off switch stopped working and I had to switch it off at the mains, subsequently I couldn’t remove the beaters so I returned it to the well known Hight Street Store for a refund. At the moment I am using a mid priced (£12) hand mixer which I’ve now had for a few months.

Do you have a favourite baking/cooking gadget that you think I should add to my collection.

2 thoughts on “Some of my favourite Gadgets

  1. Great selection! If you like, check out my website – http://www.pamperedchef.biz/sarahspage – I sell the Mini Tart Shaper separately for £5.50 and my measuring spoons are adjustable and slimline, which means they fit into your spice jars! My fav gadget is my Stackable Cooling Rack – it allows more air to circulate under your hot tins to aid cooling and because it is raised, you can fit ‘stuff’ underneath – a great space saver for small kitchens!

Leave a Reply

