Madeleines

I wonder how many of us have been out shopping, bought a baking tin/gadget with every intention of using it- one day. I can say that everytime I visit one of my favourite Cook shops, Lakeland in Harrogate, I do just that. It’s the 3 for 2 offers that get me every time.

Last summer, I bought a Madeleine tray knowing that I would, one day, bake some of those delicate little Vanilla sponge cakes that I’d heard so much about. Here I am about 6 months later making Madeleines. To my amazment I couldn’t find one Recipe in any of my Baking books, so a quick shout out on twitter was needed, and within minutes @Frenchywilson came back with a suggested website Joy of Baking with what looked like the simplest of recipes.

In my haste to make these little creatures, I forgot to leave the batter to rest in the fridge for half an hour as suggested, but my fears were unfounded and they came out perfectly well, at least to me they did. I may add a little more Vanilla next time I make them.

If you have any other flavour suggestions, please let me know.

5 thoughts on “Madeleines

  1. I love the look fo these – there is a basic Madeline recipe in Eric Lanlard’s Home Bake with lots of flavour variations. One includes pistachio paste and sprinkled chopped pistachios on top of the batter before baking, i’ll definately be giving those a go 🙂

  2. These are so pretty that it makes me want to go out and add to my baking tin mountain. I’d like to add a little grated lemon or orange zest to them and maybe a drop or two of orange flower water.

Leave a Reply

