My new Apron & Nigella’s Chocolate Fudge Cake.

I was eager to wear my new apron today and use the oven glove that I won in a Free Twitter Give Away run by rachael taylor designs. I was thrilled when it arrived in the post and it couldn’t have come at a better time because I wanted a new apron to wear at my Secret Tea Events. It’s so bright and colourful, even my guests remarked how nice it was.

Some of my lovely guests

My 12 guests arrived on the dot and immediately the conversation between them all began. More often they have never met, but the one thing that links them all is food, especially cakes.

 

Scones, Mini Chorizo Tartlets, Cheese Tartlets and Limoncello Macarons

 

The tables are always set and ready for when my guests arrive.

So that we can begin with a cup of tea.

I’ve kept the basic menu the same but with one exception and today we were having Nigella Lawsons’ Chocolate Fudge Cake from her book Nigella Bites. I’ve made this cake many times, and it never fails to please.

 

Fresh Finger Sandwiches, Limoncello Macarons and Chocolate Fudge Cake

 

Some of my guests came by train and walked from the Secret Station taking the scenic route around the area. Others arrived by car. One question a guest, who travelled from Sheffield, asked. ‘Who has travelled the farthest to The Secret Tea Room’. I had to think for a moment. Most people have travelled from around Leeds, others from Bradford and Manchester. So Sheffield and Manchester are contenders for the farthest of travellers.

All too often the event is over. New Twitter Friendships created. And the realisation of how small the world is when my daughter, who always helps with serving the tea, discovered that she and some of my guests worked for the same company.

 

3 thoughts on “My new Apron & Nigella’s Chocolate Fudge Cake.

Leave a Reply

