Fresh Finger Sandwiches

When it comes to running a private Tea Room, I can’t expect my guests to eat what’s left, when they tell me they are vegetarians or Vegans. I like to be able to cater for all tastes.

Being a meat eater, mostly Chicken, I want to create Fresh Finger Sandwiches that would look appetizing and be flavoursome at the same time. I also wanted to ‘Road Test’ suitable breads. I’ve often made my own bread,  but not to the scale required for this amount of sandwiches.

Today, I’m testing a well known brand that The Gent bought yesterday. A nice square shaped sliced loaf, perfect for cutting the edges off.

Sweet Peppers before roasting

The first thing to do was roast the Sweet peppers. Having never done this before, no really I haven’t, I simply roasted them in a very hot oven for around 25 mins. My Twitter friends, came up trumps with suggested roasting ideas:

@MarciaBowie said “The more charred the skins are, the sweeter they’ll be. Cook til very dark, cover with cling film for a couple of mins, then the skins will slip off easily”.

@violetbakes said “I normally cook mine for longer at slightly lower temp and cover in foil, takes around an hour”

Sweet Peppers after 25 mins of oven roasting with a little olive oil

When the peppers cooled down, I peeled the skins away along with most of the seeds. I spread several slices of white bread with Houmous from a well known store that has it’s root’s in Leeds. The label says suitable for Vegetarians. Is it suitable for Vegans, is something I’d like to know?

I chopped the roasted peppers into rough junks and added a layer to the houmous and sandwiched together with another slice of plain white bread. As an alternative to the Chunky roasted peppers, I grated some fresh carrot and added a layer to the Houmous.

Houmous with Roasted Sweet peppers and Houmous with Grated Carrot

With a steady hand and a sharp knife, I sliced away all the crusts, then sliced each sandwich into 3 ‘Fingers’.  No butter or spread was used, I think the Houmous more than made up for any loss of butter.

In my opinion and those of the family, these were winner on taste. I do have reservations about the Soft White Sliced bread. Although tasty and soft, it didn’t hold the contents that well, so the search is on for a more robust White Loaf.

These will be on my Afternoon Tea menus from August.  I have some Vegetarians and Vegans coming, so I do hope they like what I’ve made for them. If there are any Vegetarians or Vegans out there, please tell me if this is the sort of sandwich that would suit your tastes.





10 thoughts on “Fresh Finger Sandwiches

  1. I’m a vegetarian and would love to be served those sandwiches. I was going to ask you for recommendations for what bread to use for making sandwiches. I’ve got a tea to serve this coming Sunday. Last time I made sandwiches it was a problem finding the right bread to use. I want something wholesome and tasty. Also most bread seems to be thickly sliced from supermarkets. Advice please?

    • Hi Gloria
      Some time ago I watched a programme about Bread. As a result of that I now use Allinson Wholemeal sliced Batch loaf when making some of my sandwiches. Finding a robust white loaf is a little tricky, but I have recently been using Hovis soft White. Nothing wrong with the taste at all. It’s the softness that doesn’t seem to hold the thick fillings.

  2. Hummus is simply chickpeas, tahini, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil and salt. Christ knows what M&S put in theirs, but if you make your own then it’ll definitely be vegan. You really should give it a go – it’s spectacularly easy.

    • The ingredients listed on the packaging is as you describe, with the addition of Garlic, Rapeseed oil and water. However, if you say ‘it’s spectacularly easy’, then really I should have a go shouldn’t I.

  3. I’ll have the sandwiches without the fingers in please :~)

    I do a 5 day all vegetarian sandwich based lunch every year – just booked again this year. Have a bit of research to do for new ideas. The grated carrot, walnuts, onion & mayo works well. Open foccacia with butternut squash puree, mozzarella & rocket was good. Also made red lentil pate, another one on sweet potato scones, white bean puree with grilled aubergines, guacamole with cherry tomatoes, curried egg salad, blackbean and bulgar kofta.. oh and cheese and apple mayo among others. Damn – given all my ideas away. Any new ones?

    Although I make some of the bread, others I buy whole and slice them myself – you can control thickness.

    Definitely make you’re own hoummous – you can give it much more flavour – even if you used tinned chickpeas rather than cooking dried. Quick to whizz up in mini proccessor. Cumin essential ingredient.

    Vegan-wise you can also use vegan mayo, soy marge & dairy free ‘cheese’, either one you could buy or you can make this too: http://dairyfreecooking.about.com/od/basiccheeserecipes/r/BSCCheeseRound.htm

  4. I would definitely try making your own hoummous – but please don’t use dried – use the tinned!! I used dried and the whole process was so faffy. Then i went and put far too much garlic in so it was barely edible…. got it right the next time though!

    • Watch out bakelady – when people start discussing how to make hummus you’re opening a real can of worms. Everyone has their own “authentic” recipe and special technique that guarantees success. Before you know it there’ll be a thousand posts!!

      For what it’s worth, tinned chickpeas are quick, convenient and perfectly adequate. However, using dried will ultimately yield better results in terms of taste and texture. If you do go for tinned, rinse them thoroughly and, despite what others may counsel, don’t use the liquid from the can to thin your hummus as it can have a noticable metallic taste; just use water instead.

      But as Rach says, the soaking and cooking of the dried chickpeas is a bit more of a faff than getting the can opener out.

    • The recipe I follow was given to me by an authentic Lebanese chef and is very similar to the one posted by Sara. One thing to note is that olive oil isn’t blitzed in with the other ingredients because it’s generously drizzled over the finished plate (along with the paprika). However, it’s an important element of the finished dish, so if you’re making it to use as a spread for sandwiches you should add it to the mix when processing.

Leave a Reply

