Why I won’t use Bananas in a cake again.

I don’t like waste, so I thought I would make a cake/loaf using some very ripe Bananas. Wrong! I got carried away and added some Honey and Greek Yoghurt for good measure and extra flavour.
I didn’t chop the Bananas thoroughly enough and as a result, the cooked loaf contained large pieces of runny Banana and with the Greek Yoghurt and Honey, the combination did not taste very good.  I would have done better to have eaten the raw mixture rather than cook it as a cake, because it tasted delicious when I ‘licked’ the bowl.
I’m too ashamed to show you pictures, but from now on, when ever I see a ripe banana I shall just throw it in the recycle grey Caddy that we have and let the bin men take it away.

Instead of saving 2 Bananas, I wasted 195g SR Flour, 195g Sugar, 3 (195g) eggs, 195g Butter, Honey and Yoghurt.What a waste.

The possibility is that my OH may not notice and eat it all the same. God Bless Husbands!!

3 thoughts on “Why I won’t use Bananas in a cake again.

  1. We've all made our share of baking duds. I cant tell you how many grams of almonds, sugar and eggs i've wasted in my quest to make a good French macaron. Unfortunately mistakes are the best learning tool.*kisses* HH

  2. Ah…I love banana cake! I have a fantastic recipe that never fails. If you fancy something extra gorgeous, just add a couple of handfuls of dark chocolate chips to the batter – but it’s lovely on its own. I can’t remember where I got the recipe from – it’s one I scribbled down in my recipe book a while ago!

    100g cold butter, cubed
    225g self-raising flour
    75g caster sugar
    2-3 ripe bananas, well mashed
    2 tablespoons maple syrup or honey

    1. Preheat the oven to 160C
    2.Rub the butter into the flour until you get a mix that looks like fine breadcrumbs.
    4. Stir in the sugar.
    5. Mash the bananas, then beat in the eggs and maple syrup/honey.
    6. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until well combined (add chocolate chips at this point if you like, or maybe some chopped walnuts or pecans) and pour into a greased and lined loaf tin.
    7. Bake for around 1 hour, until a skewer comes out clean. Allow to cool in the tin for 10-15 minutes before transferring to a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

