A scone recipe challenge…………Lets keep making them.

4th June 2012 The Challenge is on again.

Regardless of how we may pronounce the word Scones, I’m sure there is one thing we all agree on and that is we love them. I believe there is such an unlimited variety of Scones that can be made, it would fill a whole cookery book in itself. Anything from plain, wholemeal, fruit, savoury the list is endless.

A few days ago I made some Cheese scones, using left over chedder from the fridge along with some Soya Yogurt. Normally I use Buttermilk, and prior to that I used Semi Skimmed Milk. However, this produces a firmer type of scone and certainly needs to be eaten the same day it was made. Using Buttermilk or Yogurt keeps the scones softer in texture and can last for a few days if kept in an airtight container. My plain Buttermilk recipe can be found here.

I have a SCONE RECIPE CHALLENGE for you. Just for the fun of it.

1) Make yourself some Scones, use your imagination as to the variety.

2) Send me a picture of them, email thesecrettearoom(at)hotmail(dot)co.uk

3) Add your scone recipe to your blog, quoting it’s origin if from a Cookery Book and link it back to the page where your picture will be posted.

4) I will post your scone picture here on my blog and link it back to the recipe on your blog. Does that make sence? Let’s see how many Scone recipes can be created and interlinked together by the end of January.

If you discover this post long after the January deadline. Fear not, it’s a bit of fun and you can still send me your scone picture and blog link and I will add you to the collection.

I don’t know how this will work but lets see if we can have a worldwide linked collection of scone recipes.

So here is my Cheese Scone Recipe and picture. Inspired by my mum’s very old Store Recipe book ‘The Art of Home Cooking’ C1960/70 ish

(225g) 8oz self-raising flour

1 x 5ml spoon(1 teaspoon) baking powder

50g (2oz) cold Butter cut into cubes

125g (4oz) finely grated Cheese

1 x 5ml spoon (1 teaspoon) dry Mustard.

7 x 15 ml spoons (7 tablespoons) of Buttermilk or plain Yogurt

Mix all the dry ingredients together until they look like breadcrumbs. Add the mustard and grated cheese. Add the buttermilk until all ingredients are combined together, do not over mix. Gently roll out the dough and cut with a pastry cutter, I use a 1 & 1/2 ins cutter. Place the scones onto a greased baking sheet and bake in a preheated oven 180 deg for about 15 – 20 mins until golden brown, depending on the size of the scones. Brush the tops with milk if you wish.

What do you think? Are you up for the Scone Recipe Challenge…….. lets get baking.

3 thoughts on “A scone recipe challenge…………Lets keep making them.

Leave a Reply

